New 2014 WR450F Owner

Hello all,

I'm new to TT and I'm new to the dirtbike world in general.  I've ridden street bikes all my life, but never owned a dirtbike until now.

I have a couple questions I'm hoping to get some answers to.

1.  Is AIS Removal kit not necessary on the 2014, or is it just not available yet?  The yamaha site does not list my model year:  https://www.yamahapartsandaccessories.com/product/details/wr-ais-removal-kit?dealernumber=

2.  I weigh 265 lbs without gear on.  I've found racetech.com for potential suspension upgrades.  Are there other companies I should look to to change springs/suspension stuff?

3. My manual suggests changing the oil evey 600 miles or so.  The FAQ suggests after every ride.  Anyone have any issues with longer oil change intervals?  600 seems like a long time, but every ride seems excessive.  Thoughts?

Thank you very much!

Brian

1.  Not sure.  I dont think there is an AIS, but rather the ECU just needs replaced with a GYTR

2.  Depends.....   If you find a reputable shop local to you that is a plus for them helping you fully set up the suspension and making little tweaks.  If you understand suspension yourself shipping it out and having it done isnt bad

3.  Depends how you ride.  Easy trail riding, you are good for quite a bit of time (100 miles ish).  If you are racing, after every race.  Check your oil color after some easy trail riding, if it starts to turn brown then I would change then.  For me thats 50-100 miles of easy trail riding.  I change after every race.   This really is a personal preference.  To me color is a big indicator on when the oil starts to break down.

Welcome to the site. Use the Search button on the top right and search "This Forum" for each of your questions. There are 100's of post with these items.

No AIS

Search for suspension - I like mine, but I'm a bit lighter than you.

I change mine every 3-5 hours of trail riding. I could go longer, but it's only a quart of oil.