HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bturner

Opinions on a Yamalink

3 posts in this topic

I've been researching lowering links lately for my 2009. There seems to be a lot of positive reviews & info out there. I found a guy w/ a used one for $100 that I'm purchasing this weekend. I was just curious to the guys that run them, how is it?

My bike is valved for the woods & sprung for my weight. I'm 200#, 5'10". I ride/race in the woods & I could stand for the rear end to loose an inch or so.

The rear spring is actually a little stiffer for my weight per the RT chart. I read that when you install a Yamalink you need to adjust the sag & get a 20% stiffer rear shock, so if that's correct, my coil will be perfect for it. I'll just need to adjust the sag.

With all that being said, did you guys notice the difference in cornering, handling & the front end feel? Does it feel to short or is an inch not that noticeable unless your putting your feet down on a steep rocky hill? Is there anything special I should about set up or riding style after I install it? Thanks for any feedback!

The Yamalink is a well made product.  The question centers not so much on whether it's a good link or a bad link, but on how the bike responds to the change in linkage geometry. 

Understand two important things; first that if you lower the back, you will upset the steering geometry in front unless the front is also lowered a like amount, and, that the linkage is designed to create a "rising rate" of shock compression.  That is, the shock is compressed progressively farther and faster for each successive inch of rear wheel travel.