HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bullock93

First bike suggestions

23 posts in this topic

Hey all!, I am new to TT and need some help! I am looking to buy a WR250 or a WR450. I am 21, 5'6 maybe 5,7 and 230lbs i will be doing some highway riding 100km/h but mostly city and back roads riding and some trails. If i was lighter i would go with the 250 but since i weight a little more i am leaning towards the wr450. Any help will be great!

Edited by Bullock93

Just for the fact you Intend to use it on open roads I'd go the 450. It won't be revving as hard at 100ks

Edited by AddictedToBling
1 person likes this

A 450 is too much power and too much bike for a first time rider. Plus the WR450 is not a true dual sport, it's a plated dirt bike. Not good for something commuted on, highway miles, etc. Get a WR250R it's a great bike and will do everything you want.

A 450 is too much power and too much bike for a first time rider. Plus the WR450 is not a true dual sport, it's a plated dirt bike. Not good for something commuted on, highway miles, etc. Get a WR250R it's a great bike and will do everything you want.

So. You're saying a 450 would be no good on the highway but a WR 250 would be good :lol: . Ooooo kay  :rolleyes:

So. You're saying a 450 would be no good on the highway but a WR 250 would be good :lol: . Ooooo kay  :rolleyes:

No, I'm saying a bike that wheelies with just a whiff of throttle in the lower gears is not a good choice for a beginner rider, because it isn't. Derp.