HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
underground-mpyre

New to dirtbikes and new to the '02 Wr426.

9 posts in this topic

Yes, I am a newbie, already you way more than me in the dirtbike thumper world. So I will play the charector that asks really dumb questions that you will smack your head with you hand for a few months.

First, I love Yamaha! My humble opinion is the 1975-78 XS650 is my all time favorite bike. But been wanting a dirtbike from some time now and the wife finally said yes. But I have a questions for the group, because I do not have a manual for the '02 Wr426f.

1. How many quarts does my bike take of oil? Shell Rotella or Mobil1 full synthetic good for it?

2 Link to easily adjust the valves or a 'how to' page. I probably should do this regardless.

Any helpful suggestions related to maintenance of the bike is always appreciated.

welcome to the club. I have an 02 as well and it is a hell of a bike, do a search and look for free mods if is not done already. I have not clipped the grey wire on mine yet. It puts a grin on my chin the way it is now and when I am comfortable with my riding ability I will open it up all the way .

Oil capacity is 1.37 quarts without filter change

1.48 with filter change

I always use rotella syn.

Edited by 67imp

Thanks, I really appreciate it. I also need to get comfortable to this monster.

Anyone have any suggestions on a quiet neighborhood exhaust? I certain in just a manner of time my neighbors will want to hang me by my toes everytime I start the bike up. I feel such an @$$ho7e when I get it running to warm up before I take off.