New to dirtbikes and new to the '02 Wr426.

Yes, I am a newbie, already you way more than me in the dirtbike thumper world. So I will play the charector that asks really dumb questions that you will smack your head with you hand for a few months.

First, I love Yamaha! My humble opinion is the 1975-78 XS650 is my all time favorite bike. But been wanting a dirtbike from some time now and the wife finally said yes. But I have a questions for the group, because I do not have a manual for the '02 Wr426f.

1. How many quarts does my bike take of oil? Shell Rotella or Mobil1 full synthetic good for it?

2 Link to easily adjust the valves or a 'how to' page. I probably should do this regardless.

Any helpful suggestions related to maintenance of the bike is always appreciated.

welcome to the club. I have an 02 as well and it is a hell of a bike, do a search and look for free mods if is not done already. I have not clipped the grey wire on mine yet. It puts a grin on my chin the way it is now and when I am comfortable with my riding ability I will open it up all the way .

Oil capacity is 1.37 quarts without filter change

1.48 with filter change

I always use rotella syn.

Edited by 67imp

Thanks, I really appreciate it. I also need to get comfortable to this monster.

Anyone have any suggestions on a quiet neighborhood exhaust? I certain in just a manner of time my neighbors will want to hang me by my toes everytime I start the bike up. I feel such an @$$ho7e when I get it running to warm up before I take off.

Thanks, I really appreciate it. I also need to get comfortable to this monster.

Anyone have any suggestions on a quiet neighborhood exhaust? I certain in just a manner of time my neighbors will want to hang me by my toes everytime I start the bike up. I feel such an @$$ho7e when I get it running to warm up before I take off.