Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rengland

The best jetting kit to purchase

7 posts in this topic

I am going to rejet my 03 YZ450F and curious of what's the best jet kit to install? My riding areas range from 2,000ft to 7,000ft and temps between 55-95 throughout the year. I currently installed a FMF powercore 4 exhaust so should I install a FMF jet kit? Currently everything else is stock.

Hey rengland. I have a 01 YZ426 and just got a FMF Powercore 4 for xmas that I haven't put on yet. I was curious did you put your powercore on your 450 without jetting? Did you adjust the main jet at all? Reason I'm asking cause I would love to install my exhaust but I don't have any jets and when it comes to bikes, instead of cars, I'm a total noob.

Have either of you looked at the second link I posted yet?

With any of the YZ400F, 426, or YZ450F models, the stock exhaust is really a pretty good system to begin with.  80% of the time or better, it's unnecessary to rejet when you replace the stock pipe with a well designed aftermarket one unless the jetting was wrong in the first place.

FWIW I bought the JD jet kit with high expectations and was disappointed.  I wouldn't spend the money again.