HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tantheman

2001 yz426f valve help!

9 posts in this topic

hello thumper talk people! i am brand new to 4 stroke engines. i just got a 2001 yz426f. it has low compression when i bought it and needs the shims replaced. i knew this coming in. but all i traded the guy was a xbox and a tv. so i thought i would just take a chance. lol. so i looked up videos and got the manual and everything and know the clearance for the valves and mostly know how to do it. so what i am asking are what shims do i need to buy? where is the best place to get them and what is a good price for them? or just tell me some helpful information about this bike! thanks!

I actually just shimmed a 01 yz426 with my buddy this past Friday. I just traded him the shims that were in the bike for some out of my shim kit. It's the Hot Cams shim kit

I accidentally hit send on that. You'll have to measure the valves and pull out the shims that are in the bike before you can determine what size shims need to be installed in the bike.

Would it just be better to take it to a bike shop and have them take care of it? Or would they try to make me pay an arm and a leg for it?

I do all of my maintenance and repair on everything I own myself. Shimming valves are pretty easy in my opinion.