HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
SSnova72

making a 2002 yz426f trail friendly

3 posts in this topic

Hi all, I am very new to the dirtbike scene and picked up a well running 2002 yz426f. It has tons of power for me but seems to just bounce me around on logging roads, and overheats in the tight technical single track. What recommendations do you have to make the bike more trail friendly? I will never race on a track, and I will likely wind up doing 90% of my rides through rocky hardpack roads or tight single track. The KTM boys seemed to really soak up the bumps a lot different than me.

I was thinking about putting lighter springs and oil in the forks, a heavier flywheel and a bigger sprocket in the rear. I am around 200 lbs, and a beginner rider, what sort of spring rate should I be looking for? Also it seems that my back tire never wants to stay underneath me. Its always sliding out one way or the other, is this because of rear suspension adjustments that are required? Also, my front fork seal was weeping a bit when I got it, so who knows how much oil I am missing...

That was long winded but I appreciate any help or insight from you guys! Thanks!

Dont know your budget or mechanical abilities but get that suspension set up for you. If you dont plan on sending to someone to set up for your weight, ability, and terrain racetech.com has a spring rate calculator. Valves and springs work together and I leave valving to the suspension companies. Set your sag too- you can search that topic.