Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Yenzarill

Hello!

6 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

I just bought an XR600 (1995 model - big step up from my old 1991 XL185S), and thought I'd say hello since this seems like a nice forum (Although I might just be buttering you all up so you answer questions I might have if my bike should have trouble in the future :) ).

I'm from Australia (anyone else?), most of my riding is done on bitumen road, although I thoroughly enjoy mucking around on the numerous secluded dirt roads and railway maintenance tracks around here. (I'm pretty new to trail riding, but I love sliding the bike around on sand and skidding around in soft gravel, popping wheelies and jumping gullys, exploring tracks... so much fun I am finding with this bike... and to think I was going to buy a road bike!)

My bike: 1995 model, Staintune exhaust , big shiny bash plate (forget the brand), custom rear disc protector, large rear sprocket (fifty-something tooth I think), custom ultra-bright LED backlighting for the dash (horray for my electronics skills). It's a really grunty bike, good for someone who's 6'2" and weighs 120 kilos :D (pounds are a stupid measurment anyway).

So yeah, on with the questions...

Can anyone give any advice on making the headlight brighter? New bulbs? Types of bulb?

I'd also like to add another light (there is space to mount it below the headlight). Something bright, that perhaps has a lot of spread on it. (I ride a lot at night along dark dirt roads). I can wire it all up myself, but I need to know how much load I can put on the alternator... any advice? Where can I find out more about the alternator on a '95 model XR600?