Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mxracer553

Race Gas or Not?

10 posts in this topic

I need some opioions on rather to use race gas or not? I have been running it and it seems to eliminate the bog on the bottom end. Let me know what you guys think!

Hey Mxracer,

I'm no expert on this but I tried it and found it not to be worth the extra money. And, as DaveJ showed me, the 426 can run super crisp on pump gas (91 octane here in Ca). Others may disagree and have...if you do a search on "race gas" or "race fuel" you will see a lot of opinions. I guess it comes down to how far you want to go for performance.

Ride On,

J

my experience with the 91 octane gas has been good except that when it is warm outside or youve been running really hard, it is will be a little harder to start.i run the 91 with maxima octane booster-2oz. per gallon.i have no bottom end lag so for me it works-hope it helps.

This month's issue of MXA has a few page article on fuel. Check it out.

Personally, I just got done trying race gas over the course of a couple week period. I'm going back to pump, I could barely notice any difference and that may have been just wishfull thinking after spending big bucks on race fuel.

Just my .02.

I tried 100 octane mobil gas and the bike ran crisp but wanted to stall in technical areas. The outside temp was about 85 degrees. Seemed like when brake sliding into a hard 180' turn stalled twice ! Pissed me off, so I went back to 93 octane.I suspect it would run exceptionally well with 100 octane and a pro circuit ignition module.In addition a permanent jetting tweak would be necessary if your going to stay with higher octane fuel. :)