HEADS UP!!!

Site upgrade in progress... Core site functions are working, but some non-critical features/functions will be temporarily unavailable while we work to restore them over the next couple of weeks.

Please post any bugs you encounter, but before you do, check to see if it's already listed.

Thanks for your patience while we work to improve the community.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lewis87

Headlight not working on 08 WR450

7 posts in this topic

The headlight on my WR450 is not working. I tried a new bulb but it still doesn't work. I'm not good with electrics so I don't know where to start with this, what are the likely causes? All the wiring and connectors look fine.

I would start debugging by putting a muli meter on the two pins going to the light, when the bike is running. If you get powere 12-14 volts, then it's something in the light...

Also, does the tail light work? I think though they are on different circuits, where the tail light is on when the bike is 'on' , regardless if the motor is running...

There are only two fuses in the circuit- one on (-) wire and one on (+). But they are essentially in same circuit.

I suppose that the stator is the next thing to check, but if the bike is running, I think it's working, though someone else here will know better how to test it. I would think the bulb would still light, though dimly, if the stator was not pushing enough volts..?

Prob not much help there, but maybe something's to think about?

I burned my light out a couple weeks ago an need to get a new bulb. Hopefully I am not entierly in the same boat as you.

Good luck,

Dustin

Thanks for the help,