Custom 2012 WR450F Taillight - (Made by me)

Background:

Q: Why did I do this?

A: I am extremely picky when it comes to buying parts. I refuse to buy mediocre parts. I have found that there are no good products currently available on the market. Almost all companies use poor quality components. Whether that is due to just not knowing about better components or if it’s by design I don’t know. I can’t really blame them for using the cheaper components though because I completely understand profit (I’m a Financial Analyst). I know that will likely upset some people who are either makers of the other products available on the market, or people who have bought a product and believe in it. This isn’t a slam on those products; rather it’s to inform people. I knew I could build something better for cheaper so the decision was obvious that I would make my own.

I’ll pick on one brand in particular because of the marketing gimmicks that are being used. Gimmicks piss me off because it preys on people who don’t know any different. Anyways, 12oclocklabs.com sells the DRC Edge 2 taillight. Currently on their site it states, “Superbright LED's; over 560,000mcd light output at maximum brightness.” What makes me mad is that they are using this 560k value and trying to make people believe this must be some spectacular unit that’s really bright. The 560k value means absolutely nothing by itself. You need to know the beam angle. An LED with a beam angle of 0.1* could have a super high mcd value, but it would be absolutely worthless in terms of brightness. It would also be dimmer than another LED with a lower mcd value but a higher angle value.