Enigne bracking on a yz 426f

Hi all,

Im new to a 426 off of a 100, love the bike it's easy to ride and all, but it's geared for motocross. Problems

-the bike has minimal engine bracking in first gear, won't go slow enough to my liking. I primarily ride mountains so I rely on this heavily.

-when you brake at all while the bike is in gear it dies

-you have to give it alot of gas to go up a hill without it killing, so again im going faster than I'd like to.

SO my question to you guys is if there is anyway other than replacing sprokets (i have a smaller front one ready to put on have'nt yet found the time) to make this bike more hill friendly, carb adjust so it doesn't kill maybe. Go easy on me I have minimal knowledege in maintnence. Thanks in advance!

Edited by cbren2494

You will enjoy that one tooth smaller front sprocket. Also make sure your pilot fuel screw is adjusted properly to give u the highest idle, you can also adjust the idle slightly higher if u want. A flywheel weight or heavier flywheel will reduce low speed stalling.

You should have plenty of engine braking if it has a good top end with plenty of compression. Do a compression and leak down test and let us know what the results are.

Some of this is just the nature of the bike. When I first started riding my 426 a few years ago I had the same complaints Running a different sprocket set up will help a bit, but its not going to make a huge difference for what your trying to accomplish. I was also riding an XR100 before and rode an XR250 for a bit too. Most of it comes down to changing your riding style. There really isn't a "one fix all" for what your trying to accomplish. Don't let it discourage you though, I love my bike for woods riding, but it kicked my ass for awhile.

Here is what I did to make things a little easier-

JD Jetting kit (in my opinion its essential if you trail ride so you can ride at different altitudes/temperatures)

Sprocket set up to your liking