blown midvalve?

I am very new to doing any work with the forks. I will be changing the fluid today. I have read that there is a problem on the 426 with a blown mid-valve. Is this easy to check? How can I tell if the mid-valve is okay.

Thanks.

The midvalves are an overstated problem. Very few of the ones I've looked into were actually bent. When MXA says something ....well, everyone thinks they too have the problem. If your forks have a tendency to dive through travel,ride lower then other bikes(providing you have the correct spring rates) and bottom easily over most obstacles, then you might be a candidate. If turning in the compression adjuster does nothing but yield a harsher ride with continuous bottoming is another clue. The fix is not bypasssing either. Find a shop that changes the midvalve stack not replaces it with a check valve.

Personally, I've had excellent success disabling the midvalve. Putting all the compression damping duties on the compression piston isn't a bad idea. Then I never have to worry about it again.

The tuners at RG3 say the same thing - the "blown mid-valve" deal is not very common. If your over jumping 120 foot doubles, there is a slight chance the problem may arise.

I lost compression on my forks three times, before I pulled the mid-valve out and replaced it with a check plate.

However, I was never able to verify if the compression loss was due to a faulty mid-valve or seal head (cylinder valve). Both have since been modified or removed with no re-occurring problem.

In addition to this, upon close inspection, I was never able to site or feel any difference in the mid-valve shim stack when my problem occurred. Unless a fatigue shim(s) is only noticeable via other means, I'm not too sure where this whole blown mid-valve thing came from.