Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Curtybird95

Yz 450 engine knock?

23 posts in this topic

My 2003 yz 450 started making a knocking noise after i was riding. I was hitting the rev limiter and once i slowed down i noticed the noise, i heard they r loud but is this normal? Heres a link of my bike and the noise on youtube

Thanks for the help.

I did not check the oil for metal, i just got the bike and rode it for two weeks then this happened? How do you replace a rod? Will it be okay to ride? I have a big trip coming this weekend and dont have time to fix it...

How will i know if the tensioner is bad? And what about the crank? Im new to working on these bikes so need all the help i can get...

if the crank is the cause then riding it will only due more damage,if it snaps then you could ruin the complete engine.My advice is get somebody who knows how to check these things,definately don't ride it the way it is.

if you ride it like that then that's a possibility,as of now most likely just a crank.You can check the tensioner by taking out the end screw and use a flat top screwdriver to tension it,I think to tension it you go counterclockwise but not 100% sure on that now.

This is the hard truth.....that bike is smoked. Cancel the trip until it's fixed.

If the crank is the cause then riding it will only do more damage. If it snaps then you could ruin the complete engine. My advice is get somebody who knows how to check these things, definitely don't ride it the way it is.

x2

Is there any possiility that it could just be the timing chain tensioner?