Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Krimble

My First WR450F Build!

88 posts in this topic

Hey guys! new to the forum. I just thought I would introduce myself by making a build thread. I'm mostly on Supermotojunkie, but I want to get another WR for Dirt use within a couple years.

Well, I'm a 17 soon to be 18 boy from New-brunswick, Canada. I always loved riding, but never had the finances to own a dirtbike. So with my money saved up from my part time job, I bought a 2009 WR250X two years ago, then around 8 months ago I bought a 2003 WR450F. I since sold the 250X and am using all the money to rebuild my 450F.

So here it goes. I started 2 weeks ago. :ride:

This is how it was a couple days before the tear down, having fun in the snow!

IMAG0608.jpg

Fastforward a couple days after, here is one nights progress. I know it's not much, but I'm pretty new to this.

IMAG0657.jpg

Then here is my friends trying to remove the carb.

IMAG0658.jpg

Then I kind of messed around in Photoshop and used Mings bike on SMJ and changed the frame, and plastic colors. I think I will love it. :thumbsup:

Mingsbikebutmywhite_zps1ca8a812.jpg

Now here we are having trouble removing the swingarm pivot bolt.

IMAG0675.jpg

IMAG0674.jpg

Here's the removed swingarm sitting warm in front of the fireplace.

IMAG0685.jpg

Now here is the bare frame, kind of dirty and small rust spots.

IMG_6967_zpsfc49dce0.jpg

I hate cleaning! Grrrr :banghead:

IMAG0687.jpg

But it is nice when things are clean ;)

IMG_6974_zps29c68fd8.jpg

Now is cleaning the engine.

IMG_6979_zps64f48167.jpg

IMG_6982_zps77cdf65e.jpg

IMG_6983_zps6121c661.jpg

Opening it up.

IMG_6984_zps1c9f7828.jpg

IMG_6986_zpsa45ea838.jpg

Edited by socom_6_deahrow
1 person likes this

Now I find why the clutch side was leaking! and I thought I was burning oil!! Haha Look at the JB weld at the bottom

IMG_6988_zpse4a75b57.jpg

Clutch disks were real nice. Got to have that rum and coke.

IMG_6991_zps3fc1fb3f.jpg

Inside the head.