Quickshot cover vs. BK mod

I know both these mods have probably been covered extensively here at TT but I couldn't find a direct comparison so I'm asking. Maybe they're not even apples for apples so they can't be compared, do they even come close to performing the same task?

I am about to do a little carb maintenance and possibly replace the AP diaphragm in order to cure a stall/bog and thought I might do one of these two mods while I'm at it. I'm a rookie mechanic at best and think the adjusting (not the installing) part of the BK mod might be more than I can handle so therefor the pump cover is definitely more appealing.

The 426 was a learning process for Yamaha.

The 98-99 400 is the FCR1 carb, the 00+ is the FCR2 carb. But the 426 00-02 did not get the leak jet in the carb bowl like the 450s and 250fs did. Thus there is not way to tune AP beyond different diaphrams. Thus the BK mod for these bikes was devised.

Now the 250f and 450Fs you just install different sized leak jets (in the bottom of the bowl) to tune the AP - like what the BK mod is trying to do.

But the 426 again was a learning experience. I had one. I ran a JD jet kit with the BK mod and it ran great. no bog. Just had to tune the fuel screw for temp/altitude.

Your other option is to get the 02 AP diagphram and needle and jet the main/pilot from there.

If you want more info on AP and optional sizes, jets etc I can post the link to the Yamaha Technical Seminar info on them.

Shure you can use them together, but why? The Quick Shot is for bikes that have too weak of a squirt (I have not met that application yet but maybe a 650 DS bike that primarily is ridden on asphalt?)

The BK mod, leak jets, accelerator pump diaphrams that have a longer stop built into the bottom are all intended to reduce the squirt volume as the street designed Kehein AC pump squirts too long for off road applications.