My wr 400 rattles like a bag-a-rattles

7 replies to this topic
  • macross

Posted November 19, 2003 - 02:46 PM

My Wr 400 rattles.....I know they do a bit, mine seems to more than most !......2 types of rattles in fact.....the clutch, normal, & another that seems to be at the top end.....Im new to thumpers, its 2000 model & ive only been on the bike a couple of weeks so it's all quite new !!!!!!!! any advise ?.........please :)

• Bamster

Posted November 19, 2003 - 03:07 PM

my 99 makes top end noise ,always has.

• macross

Posted November 19, 2003 - 03:47 PM

Thanx mate. :D........it just makes me feel concerned when your used to 4 cylinder 4 stokes running like silk, I must say it does get quieter as you go !!! :)

• Dan_Lorenze

Posted November 19, 2003 - 04:44 PM

None of my WRs ever rattled... I remember once when I had my CR250 my bike vibrated really bad and even rattled.. It turns out that the spokes were loose.. :) I tightend them up and no more rattle or vibration... It can't hurt to check... :D

Dan

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • macross

Posted November 20, 2003 - 11:50 AM

Thanx dude,
They were slack & I tightened um up when the bike came :D
but its the motor that worries me :)

• GPS Dual Sport

Posted November 20, 2003 - 12:40 PM

Check your Cam Chain. My 98 WR 400 wore out a cam chain before the piston and rings.
You can confirm by pulling the cam over and see if the chain has been slapping it and leaving marks.

• tctrailrider

Posted November 20, 2003 - 03:05 PM

My Wr 400 rattles

Two parts oil, one part Oat Meal, should do the trick. :)

• x2smoker

Posted November 21, 2003 - 02:33 PM

I noticed a rather loud rattle after I put on a GYRT insert, before that it was too loud to hear anything. No one I knew could put a finger on it so I decided if it breaks...... well I'll know what it was then.