More precise throttle travel?

15 replies to this topic
  • Xyzzy

Posted December 14, 2012 - 04:23 AM

I am a beginner so I am happy with the limited throttle screw in my '09 WR450's carb.

I was wondering if there was a way to keep the limited throw in the carb but use all of the throw in the throttle grip?

That would offer me a lot more control. (Does that make sense?)

Thanks!

PS - On a totally stock bike (I just bought it new as a leftover '09) if all I do is remove the AIS crap, in general, how far off is the jetting going to be from ideal? I don't know anything about jetting and I don't want to make it worse or break anything. I ride around 250-500' ASL if that matters. I have only ridden it a few times (5 miles total) to heat cycle it and right now it is torn down so I can lube the pivot points, etc.

Edited by Xyzzy, December 14, 2012 - 04:24 AM.

• MANIAC998

Posted December 14, 2012 - 04:56 AM

You won't hurt anything by removing the AIS stuff and not rejetting it. Fourstrokes are bathed in oil, so they are extremely tolerant of lean jetting. Your just not going to be getting full power out of it without proper jetting and removing the throttle limiter screw. But it sounds like that's perfect for you for the time being. When your ready, open her up and let her rip!!!

• miweber929

Posted December 14, 2012 - 05:27 AM

There is no performance to be gained by pulling the AIS crap so don't feel like you HAVE to. It more in the way and has a small amount of weight but it does t do anything but make the exhaust pop a little more on deceleration.

Ride it as is until you want the full power then do everything in one swoop. Your jetting will work just fine as is like Maniac mentions.

• Xyzzy

Posted December 14, 2012 - 05:43 AM

You won't hurt anything by removing the AIS stuff and not rejetting it. Fourstrokes are bathed in oil, so they are extremely tolerant of lean jetting.