Beginner YZ400f

6 replies to this topic
  • Jeff22

Posted December 06, 2012 - 09:51 PM

Hey guys, I'm new to dirtbiking and I have picked up a 1999 yz400f, I have only been out on it for a couple of hours and so far I've noticed a couple things:
lots of backfiring on decel, and hesitation when cracking the throttle either in gear or in neutral. My friend, who has been dirtbiking all his life and does his own repairs, figures the pilot jet is clogged and we plan on taking it apart and cleaning it out. Is he right? I ride at around 1300 feet/400 metres and just wondering if the stock size 45 pilot jet is good for this elevation. The previous owner said that he had adjusted the needle jet a couple of notches to richen it.

So far I have done nothing to this bike, just wanted to get some opinions on the things I should do to it in the spring before riding. I plan to do a fresh oil/filter change and air filter clean for sure. My friend suggests we do the wheel bearings and possibly linkage bearings. I also want to gear the bike down to maybe 14/52. I plan to do mostly trail riding and the stock gearing (14/49 I believe) is way too tall.

I am somewhat capable of doing repairs/maintainence and what I can't do myself, my friend could help me. I am open to all opinions and suggestions, keeping in mind that I do have a tight budget, being 16 and only working a couple times a week. I am only looking for a trail ripper that is easy on the wallet, and not a done out motocross bike. So please do share what you think I should/shouldn't do to my bike.

One more question about oil, I know the manual says to run the yamaha factory oil, but this stuff is expensive. Is it really necessary? Would I be okay as long as I run the proper weight oil?

Thanks.

Edited by jdwxyz, December 06, 2012 - 09:58 PM.

• grayracer513

Posted December 07, 2012 - 07:35 AM