2012 ZY450F

4 replies to this topic
  • ryno060

Posted December 03, 2012 - 10:14 PM

So it's been a while since I have been on here. I got rid of my 2000 426 when I got divorced over a year ago. But a couple months ago I decided I needed a toy in my life, so I treated myself to a brand 2012 YZ450F. This bike is amazing. I have been riding for 20+ years and this thing scares the s$%* out of me, but in a good way :). I broke it in up the woods and it was hard to get used to the pull this thing has when cornering. Last weekend I put the paddle tire on and took it to the Oregon Dunes for the first time. Oh My God! This thing is a beast in the sand. I haven't messed with a single thing on this bike (besides suspension stifness) and I don't think it needs it. This bike is the smoothest, most powerful and all around perfect bike. Just thought I would give my two cents on the Bike.

If anyone has a 2010-2012, and has done any mods to it that they recommend, I would really appreciate it. Also if anyone has the GYTR programmer and recommend it or not, I would love to hear that before I buy one. Thanks a lot everyone.

• MX763

Posted December 04, 2012 - 06:24 AM

Congrats on the spoil! I have a 2011 that is an incredible bike. I put a K&N filter and an FMF slip on and it really opened the bike up. Some people talk shit on the K&N but if you maintain it and use a good amount of grease, It seals great. I used a friends programmer and put in the Marmont map and it works pretty well. I can say I'm happy with it enough not to go spend a couple hundered on the programmer for myself.
I also had my forks and shock Gold Valved and threw on a Pro Circuit lowering link. The bike is absolutely perfect now. It corners incredibly well and is the most stable 450 hands down.
If you're a woods guy, you should probably put on some Works Connection radiator braces or your factory radiators will not last very long.