'06 YZ 450f Gearing For Trails Riding?

8 replies to this topic
  • RidingTwoLive

Posted November 28, 2012 - 10:11 AM

I have been trying to find a sprocket combo to lower gear a '06 YZ 450f for trail riding and haven't found anything available... Where do you YZ 450f trail riders get your sprockets and what sprocket combo do you run? Also a good gold chain is on the list but I don't know what length or which brand. I am basically new to the YZ scene so I need some guidance.

• gbalias

Posted November 28, 2012 - 11:06 AM

JT sprockets has all sorts of them.

http://www.jtsprockets.com/

Thumpertalk store has stuff:
https://www.thumpert...prockets-c3679/

and theres also Rocky Mountain:
http://www.rockymoun...44/54/226/Drive

I always use Regina ORN6 chains (but i think now theyre just called the MSR Gold chains)

I forgot what gearing i have set up on my 08. i think its the 13/49. seems to work good for me, but your speed and trails may dictate a different ratio

• High_Boost

Posted November 28, 2012 - 11:19 AM

the most common gearing for woods is 13/52 (13/49 should be stock)

I personally run 12/49 which is the same overall gearing, but some people say that the 12 tooth front sprocket is a bad idea, I don't remember why.. maybe accelerated chain guide wear or something.. the next time I get a set I will switch to 13/52

• FinchFan194

Posted November 28, 2012 - 12:05 PM

I disagree with gearing a bike down for trails, I run 13/49 which works just fine. I ride lots of tight woods with technical terrain and I also race Hare Scrambles. Lowering the gearing makes the bike too jerky for me. I want smooth power. To each his own though just giving you my opinion. Whatever you do at least get some type of sealed chain, a solid roller chain will get destroyed in a heartbeat on trail rides.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • RidingTwoLive

Posted November 28, 2012 - 01:12 PM