'07 YZ250 woods setup

8 replies to this topic
  • mmmm waffles

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:36 PM

Hi, I am new to the 2 stroke game, I have been riding my '09 KX450F in the woods this past year and it is just too big and bulky so I bought this yz250 to make myself a nice woods bike. My thing is what are the necessities to making this bike a better bike in the woods, giving it a little more low/mid range. What tires do you all like? I want something with good grip and half way decent wear, I had Geomax 51's on my 450mx bike and it seems like they would rip to shreds in no time which being in the woods with rocks and roots would get destroyed even more. I know everyone has their likes and dislikes Im just curious to what you all think.

• jamracing

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:12 PM

THere are about 2342565 posts for setting up the YZ250 for the woods...search function :)

• jer500

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:41 PM

try keeping it simple get a set of hand guards, a skid plate, mabye some rad braces stuff that has function not good looks, try it with the flywheel weight and see where your at mabye get the suspension revalved, i use pirelli tires scorpion up front and mt 16 rear and im shocked how long they lasted would last even longer if i didnt hit pavment to connect trails. stock pipe and pc shorty seem to work well on my bike, get your yz jetted properly is another key thing

• mmmm waffles

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:11 PM

Sorry jamracing im semi forum retarded, I tried searching and it says there was nothing found?