Hip hinge and back posture for speed and efficient riding

4 replies to this topic
  • Swappa

Posted November 05, 2012 - 10:08 AM

I read quite a bit about the hip hinge, unlocking your hips for separation of the lower and upper body, and for efficient riding.
This is an example:
http://www.racerxvt....o-the-hip-hinge
http://www.racerxonl...lms-ryan-hughes
I am including some of these hip-hinge exercises into my weekly routines (3 x half hour runs/sprints plus 20 minutes stationary exercises and weight work), and I am trying to stick my bum out just like RC in attempt to load my legs and be more efficient when riding racing.
I am a vet expert offroad (Xc, harescramble, GP) and intermediate MX rider 32 years old.
Please share other links or articles about back posture and the correct positioning of your hips if you have advice.
I have been riding and racing my whole life, and I feel as though this is a technique I have not really developed too much, but which could be useful.
If there are folks on TT that have been to one of the Ryno's (Ryan Hughes') riding schools, and who can elaborate on what he means by 'unlocking your hips', that would be awesome. If you are a fan of any of these techniques, or have other theories on how to use your back and hips, please post here.
Thanks, Swap

• Die_trying

Posted November 05, 2012 - 12:31 PM

my guess is you are probably 'unlocking' your hips already. If you have correct body position on the bike and an aggressive attack position, then you probably aren't missing anything technique wise.

I read some of ryno's articles and watched a couple of his videos and the unlocked hips things was something you don't even realize your doing, but once it's pointed out to you and you recognize it while riding, it makes a lot of sense.

I haven't read up on any of his technique in a while, but i remember the focus being on riding on the balls of your feet, using your legs more and your arms/hands less and the hip unlocking.