How to ride it

5 replies to this topic
  • candlkirk

Posted October 18, 2001 - 03:31 AM

I just sold my yz250. Yesterday I bought a new 426. How will I have to change my riding style now. I guess what I am asking is how do I ride this thing.

• Scott_F

Posted October 18, 2001 - 04:19 AM

Don't chop the throttle on take offs! Don't slip the clutch. Don't be afraid to rev it after break in. The rest will come with practice. You will either quickly adapt after 2-3 rides, or not. If you are a smooth rider, it will come naturally.

• candlkirk

Posted October 18, 2001 - 04:57 AM

Thanks, Can anyone give me some advice on suspension setup. Also is pump gas alright to run in it. I have been riding for several years and hope I can abapt to the 4-Stroke.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Merfman

Posted October 18, 2001 - 05:02 AM

Having come from a 98YZ250, onto a YZ426, I can sympathize.
I find that if you ride the YZF like a two stroke, IOW, be
aggresive, you'll haul major anus. There *are* times I fan
the clutch and that makes things happen in a hurry. The
only other thing I found is that you MUST plan ahead to turn.
The YZF will not cut-n-thrust like a 250 simply because it
won't stop like a 250.

As for the suspension, I'd suggest going full-soft until it
breaks in, then start turning the compression in, in two click
increments until its plush but firm enough that you only bottom
once per lap if on a track. I had my suspension revalved by
a local guru and the diff is pretty drastic. Also, make sure the
sag is set correctly as if it isn't, the bike is pretty "ass happy"
(at least to me)

Merf

• sirthumpalot

Posted October 18, 2001 - 06:09 AM