Rookie Jumper ?

11 replies to this topic
  • 426_Pilot

Posted October 17, 2001 - 07:07 AM

I'm a rookie and have a question. I notice the advanced riders tapping the rear brake to bring the front wheel down when it's up. My assumption with the 426 is that a brake tap will immediately stall the motor resulting in an ugly landing. Is body position the only way to get the front wheel down? Does the brake tap work (clutch pulled or higher gear [less compression])etc.? Any help for this novice would be appreciated. Thanx.

• m2g4b

Posted October 17, 2001 - 07:22 AM

I'm a beginner mx rider but have been riding for a couple of yrs. Yes the brake tap works in the air. I simply pull in the clutch in flight and then tap the brake. It will bring the front end down with out stalling the motor. Ive also stalled in the air and really you can land no problem, most of the time!!

• bbeakley

Posted October 17, 2001 - 08:06 AM

Works fine, just make sure you have the clutch pulled in. Like m2g4b said, you can also land a stalled bike, just make sure you have the clutch pulled in then too (otherwise you'll find out what the underside of your front fender looks like).

• flyinguitars

Posted October 17, 2001 - 08:14 AM

The brake tap in the air does work. Its just hard to remember the drill at first when your worried about landing the bike safely. Another cool thing you can do is rev the bike just before landing (on the downslope) and shoot a huge plume of roost into the air. Looks & sounds & feels awesome..plus it gives speed boost when racing. If you ride at a track, watch the fast guys...they all do it.
Mike

• Glen_T

Posted October 17, 2001 - 09:51 PM