WR 426 Loud Intermittent Rattle From Right Side

22 replies to this topic
  • nnamssorxela

Posted September 11, 2012 - 04:20 PM

Hey all,

Note that this bike is a 1998 WR 400 with a 426 top end. I haven't run my bike in a while (lots of repairs) and I just started riding it the other day. I've always read that the yz/wr models are notoriously loud bikes, but I noticed an intermittent rattle that seemed out of place. It seems to be coming from the right side, particularly around the header bend. I've seen similar videos on youtube and there have been many opinions from water pump to air leaking around the header. I put on a skid plate yesterday and now the sound seems extraordinarily loud (obviously due to sound reflection) but I'd like to find the issue.

The video sound is off (and I think it was a bit loud for my camera), but you can hear the sound throughout the video, particularly when I rev it up a little bit. Any suggestions?

-Alex

Edited by nnamssorxela, September 16, 2012 - 09:32 AM.

• nnamssorxela

Posted September 12, 2012 - 04:35 AM

The cam chain, cam chain guides, valves, piston, cylinder, and tensioner (manual) etc. are all new, though I recall it making this sound a little before, though not quite as bad, I also didn't have the skid plate on. Let me know if there is any more info I can give.

• allterra

Posted September 12, 2012 - 05:03 AM

I would use a screwdriver as a stethascope (sp?) To try to pin point it or at least narrow it down. I could not hear it on the vid but if I had to make a wild guess I would check the pump for debris.

• armpit

Posted September 12, 2012 - 11:38 AM

stethoscope

ftfy

Spray some carb cleaner around the header to see if there are any changes in the idle

• nnamssorxela

Posted September 12, 2012 - 03:30 PM