2008 WR450 Speedometer help please...

8 replies to this topic
  • Knocksville450

Posted September 09, 2012 - 07:22 PM

Hi, Im new to the form.
Ive just rebuilt a new to me 2008 WR450, and need some help with resetting the instruments/ odometer. I added a big tanl, recluse clutch suspension up grades trail tech headlight, Hyperlite stop/tail/ turn units and a new TN license plate. I love this bike!
Ive been used to using the Vapor on my KLR650 successfuly but, Now im a bit confused and need some directions.
When I stop to fill up the tank I like to reset the milage.

So far the best I have been able to do is start pushing the three rubber buttons until things begin to change. I have no idea what im doing.
With this method I was able to get the clock reset. I find myself spending about 20 minutes at the pump just randomly pushing the rubber buttons. Where can I get some instruction?
Yes, its true, I am button challanged. I have some difficulty changing channels on the tv. Even this typing goes really slow for me.
Thanks a bunch,
Richard B.

• wizbangdoodle

Posted September 09, 2012 - 07:26 PM

I think you can download the owners manual from the Yamaha site. I can go get my manual and post up tomorrow if you don't have an answer by then. I am assuming that you just want to reset the odometer? If so, you just push and hold the reset button until it resets to 0. Hope that's what you're looking for.

• MANIAC998

Posted September 09, 2012 - 07:27 PM

Get a manual for your machine. They have a detailed description on how to adjust the instrument cluster.
Maniac

• GlennR

Posted September 10, 2012 - 04:05 AM

Link for Manual http://www.yamahaown...ook.com.au/?r=0

The button by itself, on the left, resets the milage. Just press it for about 5 seconds.

I see you're in Knoxville. There's going to be an ADVrider rally up at Watauga Lake in May ( http://www.advrider....ad.php?t=820686 ) .