2009 WR450F Newbie Carburetor Questions

8 replies to this topic
  • Hutta

Posted August 31, 2012 - 06:08 PM

I have a recently broke in 2009 WR450F. I’ve done the grey wire mod, throttle stop mod, and replaced the stock tail pipe with a larger diameter Yamaha tail pipe.

The last time I had the bike out it over heated (I was on a steep rocky trail). I’m a newbie, so I’m guessing my crappy technique contributed to the problem, but after doing some reading on this forum I believe I need to make some changes to the carburetor.

To be honest with you I’m not much of a mechanic. What I know about the bike I’ve learned from this forum, my manual, and from talking to a few friends. I’ll apologize in advance if I repeat a question that has already been asked, or if you are just annoyed with my ignorance.

Here is what I think I know, please correct me if I’m wrong. Due to the mods I’ve made, and the elevation at which I ride, I need to re jet the carburetor. I will need to look at the jetting tutorial here on the forum to get an idea of what size jetting I need to use, according to my elevation. I’ll need to purchase a jetting kit, adjustable fuel mixture screw, and a needle kit (JD Needle Kit). I’ll start with following the procedure I found here for “Selecting the Correct Pilot Jet and Setting the Fuel Screw”.