KX250 Hard starting

4 replies to this topic
  • lethalweapon100

Posted August 23, 2012 - 05:05 PM

[color=#282828]So a brand new day at the track. 98 250. It typically takes 5-8 kicks to start which I don't particurally like. Id perfer 1-3 but hey, its cold. When it gets nice and toasty warm, it STILL takes a good 6-8 kicks at TDC to start. If it doesn't start in 6+, it doesn't start. At all. No 2 ways about it until its cooled down and been sitting for a couple hours.

The is currently jetted to FMF's settings (I think its a 45 PJ?) But I think the pilot is causing the issue. The bowl leaks a bit so I'm going to have to open up the carb again anyway. Plug is a BR9ES. What should I change the PJ to so the bike starts easier?[/color]

[color=#282828]Also, How do I adjust the float? At what setting?[/font][/color]

[color=#282828]I did read the Pilot Circuit adjustment post. Which one is the fuel screw? Is it the idle screw? (Sorry, i'm VERY new to this bike...)[/color]

Edited by lethalweapon100, August 23, 2012 - 05:06 PM.

• Kah Ran Nee

Posted August 23, 2012 - 06:19 PM

[color=#282828]So a brand new day at the track. 98 250. It typically takes 5-8 kicks to start which I don't particurally like. Id perfer 1-3 but hey, its cold. When it gets nice and toasty warm, it STILL takes a good 6-8 kicks at TDC to start. If it doesn't start in 6+, it doesn't start. At all. No 2 ways about it until its cooled down and been sitting for a couple hours.

The is currently jetted to FMF's settings (I think its a 45 PJ?) But I think the pilot is causing the issue. The bowl leaks a bit so I'm going to have to open up the carb again anyway. Plug is a BR9ES. What should I change the PJ to so the bike starts easier?[/color]

[color=#282828]Also, How do I adjust the float? At what setting?[/font][/color]

[color=#282828]I did read the Pilot Circuit adjustment post. Which one is the fuel screw? Is it the idle screw? (Sorry, i'm VERY new to this bike...)[/color]