Jump to content

  • Follow us:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Instagram
  • RSS Feed
  • Google+




Related Reviews

Yamaha WR450F 2012


Last review by Ptch5636
* * * * -



Related Garage

14225383_10207376614429212_2538313533293271733_n.jpg

Yamaha WR450F (2012)


Owner: Strykerlover
Added on September 16, 2016
Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

2012 WR450 Starting woes

Yamaha WR450F 2012


500 replies to this topic
  • W85W58

    TT Member

37 posts
Location: Montana

Posted October 01, 2013 - 02:46 AM


MY SOLLUTION

ive owned a brand new wr450f 2012 for 3 months now and when i first got the bike it was a nightmare to start but my dealer assured me thast it would be ok after a 1000 + kms

and he was very right she start first time the odd time it takes 2-3 goes  .

only thing i can say is that when you turn the bike on  dont push the start button straight away . wait for the little electrical noise to stop then try and if still not going then wait for noise to stop and try again . even with my bike running right  if i was to go and try to start it without letting it settle then it would NEVER START .
btw  my current setup is standard as the dealer gave it to me  . she came with throttle stop removed , mappable ecu , pea shooter removed and wider one fitter  this is how we get our bikes brand new from the dealer here in new Zealand

 

That's pretty much how I try to start every time.  The cold start isn't really an issue.  My bike starts usually on the 2nd or 3rd try.  I don't have any issue with that.  The problem is after the bike warms up or gets hot, it becomes a bear to start.



  • littlebigpuff

    TT Newbie

18 posts
Location: New Zealand
Garage View Garage

Posted October 01, 2013 - 07:24 AM


mine does not change warm , hot or cold . starts the same way every time . like i say ive done almost 2000 kms . i my bike has changed the way it starts competly  . i would say the same goes for most wr450 2012 here in new zeland



  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted October 09, 2013 - 11:11 PM


Finally, after trying everything on these posts, my bike starts on the first or second button.  I bought a FI diagnostic controller and increased the idle richness by +20 units.  This changed my CO levels from 2.5% to 5% which is were I would like a race engine to be at.  You can find these controllers on ebay or Alibaba but be aware that the Yamaha cable does not fit.  You need to make sure you get the SYM (Taiwanese scooter) cable as this fits the WR/YZ FI plug.

 

DSC_0003.jpgDSC_0006-2.jpgDSC_0004-2.jpg


  • boston460 and MidlifeCrisisGuy like this
  • Like This

  • vlxjim

    TT Bronze Member

343 posts
Location: California
Garage View Garage

Posted October 10, 2013 - 07:31 AM


 How did you get the FI diagnostic controller SYM cable for the FI diagnostic controller?



  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

    TT Platinum Member

1,869 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 10, 2013 - 08:42 AM


What else does the FI diagnostic controller do ?

  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted October 10, 2013 - 01:28 PM


 How did you get the FI diagnostic controller SYM cable for the FI diagnostic controller?

Make sure you don't order the Yamaha only version.  You need one with multiple cables including the SYM cable or just the SYM cable



  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted October 10, 2013 - 01:29 PM


What else does the FI diagnostic controller do ?

Fault codes, TPI and that's about it.



  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

    TT Platinum Member

1,869 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 10, 2013 - 06:46 PM


Fault codes, TPI and that's about it.

Can you set or read ignition curves or fuel injection curves ?

Did you notice any difference in how your bike runs at low RPMs after you changed the idle A/F mixture ? Is it more robust off idle or more resistant to stalling ?

  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted October 10, 2013 - 06:56 PM


Can you set or read ignition curves or fuel injection curves ?

Did you notice any difference in how your bike runs at low RPMs after you changed the idle A/F mixture ? Is it more robust off idle or more resistant to stalling ?

1) No - you still need the GYTR tuner for this

2) Smoother accelleration from idle and less stalling - as expected when going from too lean a mixture.  It feels like it would on my last WR if I had too small a pilot jet and have now gone up to the correct size.  From the sounds of it though, some people on the forum had too rich an idle and others are OK and just need to modify their starting technique.



  • W85W58

    TT Member

37 posts
Location: Montana

Posted October 15, 2013 - 12:37 PM


1) No - you still need the GYTR tuner for this
2) Smoother accelleration from idle and less stalling - as expected when going from too lean a mixture. It feels like it would on my last WR if I had too small a pilot jet and have now gone up to the correct size. From the sounds of it though, some people on the forum had too rich an idle and others are OK and just need to modify their starting technique.


Corkster,

I'd like to know more details of your set-up.

Which map are you using?

What muffler do you have?

Have you changed anything else?

Why have you decided that 5% CO is "the" number? Just curious.

I'd like to mimic your set-up to see if it works on my bike.

Thanks for the info!

Jon


  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted October 15, 2013 - 03:41 PM


The maps off the GYTR recommendation page - depending on the conditions, mud, woods or sand.

Slip on Akrapovic muffler - very similar to the GYTR version.

No throttle restrictor (Aussie bike)

 

5% CO is what we all used on cars for years to give a slightly richer than stoichiometric idle.  This gives a smooth idle with good instant throttle response before any accellerator pump (or pump effect) has time to occur.  It is only since emissions controls came into place that we all have to accept excessively lean idle mixtures from the manufacturers.  If you go back to the traditional method of setting the idle mixture screw, you fiddled around until you got the fastest idle (stoichiometric) and then went half a turn richer.  If you had a gas analyser, 5% CO was typically about right.



  • JDLowrance

    TT Silver Member

594 posts
Location: California

Posted October 15, 2013 - 05:16 PM


Finally, after trying everything on these posts, my bike starts on the first or second button.  I bought a FI diagnostic controller and increased the idle richness by +20 units.  This changed my CO levels from 2.5% to 5% which is were I would like a race engine to be at.  You can find these controllers on ebay or Alibaba but be aware that the Yamaha cable does not fit.  You need to make sure you get the SYM (Taiwanese scooter) cable as this fits the WR/YZ FI plug.

 

DSC_0003.jpgDSC_0006-2.jpgDSC_0004-2.jpg

 

Can you post a link to this item (and all required cables) on ebay...did a search and cannot find anything.



  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted October 15, 2013 - 05:43 PM


Stand alone diagnostic tool with Yamaha cable.  Tool works but the cable does not fit the +2012 WR450

 

http://www.aliexpres.../564717351.html

 

Laptop based tool with cables for all main brands.  This includes the SYM cable that fits the +2012 WR450

 

http://www.aliexpres.../836321163.html

 

I ended up with both and used the stand alone tool with the cable from the laptop version. 



  • JDLowrance

    TT Silver Member

594 posts
Location: California

Posted October 15, 2013 - 07:56 PM


Cool, thanks for the links. What did you use to analyze the exhaust with?



  • BoiseBee

    TT Bronze Member

177 posts
Location: Idaho
Garage View Garage

Posted October 15, 2013 - 08:29 PM


Cool, thanks for the links. What did you use to analyze the exhaust with?

Looks like the Gunson unit.... seems to be a pretty good one for the money.

http://www.amazon.co...l/dp/B009WPGJMC

 

Thanks to Corkster for being the guinea pig and buying these parts so he could report back to us with this very handy information. I'm ordering the tool ASAP!



  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

    TT Platinum Member

1,869 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 16, 2013 - 03:18 AM


Looks like the Gunson unit.... seems to be a pretty good one for the money.
http://www.amazon.co...l/dp/B009WPGJMC
 
Thanks to Corkster for being the guinea pig and buying these parts so he could report back to us with this very handy information.


+1 !


I'm ordering the tool ASAP!


Please report both your CO and ECU setting when you do your bike. I'm going to order the FI unit and hope to do mine without using the CO analyzer.

Mine has started and run well all summer. However, I did a high elevation/cold ride on the weekend and it was starting to get temperamental. I want to richen it up a bit, both the map and the idle.

  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

    TT Platinum Member

1,869 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 16, 2013 - 03:22 AM


Stand alone diagnostic tool with Yamaha cable.  Tool works but the cable does not fit the +2012 WR450
 
http://www.aliexpres.../564717351.html
 
Laptop based tool with cables for all main brands.  This includes the SYM cable that fits the +2012 WR450
 
http://www.aliexpres.../836321163.html
 
I ended up with both and used the stand alone tool with the cable from the laptop version.


Do you know where I can get the WR cable for the stand alone tool without buying the second unit ?

OR

Would you be willing to figure out the pin out for the SYM connector and share it with us ?

Edited by MidlifeCrisisGuy, October 16, 2013 - 03:43 AM.


  • funt

    TT Bronze Member

105 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 16, 2013 - 04:49 AM


I saw one on dhgate.com that looked like it would work.  I tried to hotlink to it but it keeps getting messed up.


Edited by funt, October 16, 2013 - 06:28 AM.


  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

    TT Platinum Member

1,869 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 16, 2013 - 08:47 AM


I saw one on dhgate.com that looked like it would work.  I tried to hotlink to it but it keeps getting messed up.

The connector itself ? Does it have an item number or a title ? What search terms did you use ?

Thanks

  • funt

    TT Bronze Member

105 posts
Location: Other

Posted October 16, 2013 - 08:52 AM


I searched for motorcycle scanner.  It was the programmer and the cable.  The listing says 2013 for YAMAHA motorcycle repair tool latest motobike diagnostic scanner tool autocycle autobike diagnos


Edited by funt, October 16, 2013 - 02:30 PM.






Related Content

Forums
Photo

2012 WR450 IMS fuel tank by Dave WR450


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • Hot  30 replies
Forums
Photo

2016 WR450 Ride Report & Opinions by stevethe


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • Hot  226 replies
Forums
Photo

2012 wr450 plastics by Fvmcboy99


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • 3 replies
Forums
Photo

2012 wr450 headlight by donkeyballz


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • Hot  27 replies
Forums
Photo

New '11 WR450 or '12WR450 by new605guy


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • Hot  76 replies

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

 
x

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.

The views and opinions expressed on this page are strictly those of the author, and have not been reviewed or approved by ThumperTalk.