Jump to content

  • Follow us:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Instagram
  • RSS Feed
  • Google+





Related Garage

2012_Yamaha_WR_450F.jpg

Yamaha WR450F (2012)


Owner: Ptch5636
Added on October 02, 2016


Related Reviews

Yamaha WR450F 2012


Last review by Ptch5636
* * * * -
Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

2012 WR450 Starting woes

Yamaha WR450F 2012


500 replies to this topic
  • wr4502012

    TT Member

36 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 22, 2013 - 07:42 PM


When you used the cable was the switch in the off position? Sorry for the questions just trying to work out the cable arrangement.

I tested it both position and it works.Its is just for powering up a ECU.But that switch is for yz450f use.

 

And if someone looking correct plug,you can use that plug what is in airbox.


Edited by wr4502012, November 22, 2013 - 09:21 PM.


  • cassinova90

    TT Member

40 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 12:16 AM


hi mate, Can you elaborate a bit on this??

Are you using the battery clamp type lead or the other??

I've popped the connection pins out of the triangular shaped connector and connected them to the spare plug in the airbox.

I'm using the connector in the airbox and when I power the bike all I get is the RPM's tried holding the center button and get nothing..

So now i got help from local dealer and this 90890-03182 tool will work.

 

When "waitin connection" appear you need press middlebutton down and hold it down,then press bike power button .Then it goes to diag mode and you can adjust co.So no need this new expensive tool.

 

Manual for that tool wont tell how to connect it.



  • wr4502012

    TT Member

36 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 23, 2013 - 01:12 AM


hi mate, Can you elaborate a bit on this??

Are you using the battery clamp type lead or the other??

I've popped the connection pins out of the triangular shaped connector and connected them to the spare plug in the airbox.

I'm using the connector in the airbox and when I power the bike all I get is the RPM's tried holding the center button and get nothing..

Hi

 

I use this yamaha cable 90890-03212 and yamaha tool

 

Just found a diode what is before on off switch.

 

Here is wiring for that, maybe it gives more info.

 

When tool says waiting connection press middlebutton down and keep it down.Then power a bike and it should go to diag mode.

Attached Thumbnails

  • wiring.jpg


  • cassinova90

    TT Member

40 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 01:26 AM


Ok thanks for your help,

I used the supplied lead with the red+black clips and the green lug.

I connected the clips to the battery and the green lead up to the green connection in the airbox ( middle pin of 3 pin connector)

Tester read connecting so I held down the mode button, then turned the bikes power button, next thing you know Diag mode!!!


Thanks!

 

Hi

 

I use this yamaha cable 90890-03212 and yamaha tool

 

Just found a diode what is before on off switch.

 

Here is wiring for that, maybe it gives more info.

 

When tool says waiting connection press middlebutton down and keep it down.Then power a bike and it should go to diag mode.



  • wr4502012

    TT Member

36 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 23, 2013 - 01:34 AM


Ok thanks for your help,

I used the supplied lead with the red+black clips and the green lug.

I connected the clips to the battery and the green lead up to the green connection in the airbox ( middle pin of 3 pin connector)

Tester read connecting so I held down the mode button, then turned the bikes power button, next thing you know Diag mode!!!


Thanks!

 

Good it works



  • cassinova90

    TT Member

40 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 01:38 AM


Yep got it into diag mode, now I need to work out how to set the co adjustment

Good it works



  • wr4502012

    TT Member

36 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 23, 2013 - 02:05 AM


Yep got it into diag mode, now I need to work out how to set the co adjustment

 

 

UP->MODE->MODE

 

and you can adjust it,after that press MODE again and turn it off



  • cassinova90

    TT Member

40 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 02:12 AM


UP->MODE->MODE

 

and you can adjust it,after that press MODE again and turn it off

Wow... It really is that simple... 

I don't have a sniffer, Mine was set to - 7  What do you suggest I set it to?



  • boston460

    TT Member

54 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 02:43 AM


Wow... It really is that simple...

I don't have a sniffer, Mine was set to - 7 What do you suggest I set it to?


The Chinese fi tools start at zero when you first access the CO settings, I set mine to +16 with it so maybe try +9 with yours.

  • wr4502012

    TT Member

36 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 23, 2013 - 02:46 AM


Wow... It really is that simple... 

I don't have a sniffer, Mine was set to - 7  What do you suggest I set it to?

Mine was 1 and i change it 10,so maybe 1 is goot starting point,then some testing and adjusting more or less.I don`t have sniffer too.Just testing and adjusting.



  • cassinova90

    TT Member

40 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 02:51 AM


Mine was 1 and i change it 10,so maybe 1 is goot starting point,then some testing and adjusting more or less.I don`t have sniffer too.Just testing and adjusting.


Now I know how easy it is I'm gonna have to play around with it .

  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

    TT Platinum Member

1,869 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 23, 2013 - 06:41 AM


Excellent news ! This forum has great communication.

  • BoiseBee

    TT Bronze Member

177 posts
Location: Idaho
Garage View Garage

Posted November 23, 2013 - 09:33 AM


WR4502012,

 

Can you please post a link to the tool you ordered? (and the connection cable) I'm already in for the $88 tool that didn't work, so I might as well buy another one and hope it works.... I did a search for 90890-03182 on Aliexpress, but it didn't come back with anything.

 

Thanks.


Edited by BoiseBee, November 23, 2013 - 10:31 AM.


  • boston460

    TT Member

54 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 01:26 PM


WR4502012,

Can you please post a link to the tool you ordered? (and the connection cable) I'm already in for the $88 tool that didn't work, so I might as well buy another one and hope it works.... I did a search for 90890-03182 on Aliexpress, but it didn't come back with anything.

Thanks.


The genuine Yamaha sub cable is ridiculously expensive, I found it online for 190 euros, the best bet would be make your own from the wiring diagram Wr4502012 posted or do what casanova90 did, you can pick the Yamaha fi tool up on eBay
http://m.ebay.com/it...av=SEARCH&sbk=1

  • BoiseBee

    TT Bronze Member

177 posts
Location: Idaho
Garage View Garage

Posted November 23, 2013 - 01:53 PM


The genuine Yamaha sub cable is ridiculously expensive, I found it online for 190 euros, the best bet would be make your own from the wiring diagram Wr4502012 posted or do what casanova90 did, you can pick the Yamaha fi tool up on eBay
http://m.ebay.com/it...av=SEARCH&sbk=1


Thanks Boston!


  • cassinova90

    TT Member

40 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 23, 2013 - 02:51 PM


Yep, thats where I got mine. They are no longer available from Yamaha.
 

The genuine Yamaha sub cable is ridiculously expensive, I found it online for 190 euros, the best bet would be make your own from the wiring diagram Wr4502012 posted or do what casanova90 did, you can pick the Yamaha fi tool up on eBay
http://m.ebay.com/it...av=SEARCH&sbk=1



  • wr4502012

    TT Member

36 posts
Location: Other

Posted November 24, 2013 - 04:34 AM


WR4502012,

 

Can you please post a link to the tool you ordered? (and the connection cable) I'm already in for the $88 tool that didn't work, so I might as well buy another one and hope it works.... I did a search for 90890-03182 on Aliexpress, but it didn't come back with anything.

 

Thanks.

 

This is a place where i buy it.Same place you can find that cable but its expesive.

 

http://www.cmsnl.com...ool_9089003182/



  • 270winchester

    TT Member

60 posts
Location: Texas

Posted November 24, 2013 - 08:21 AM


This seems like a big PIA.

 

I would like to enrichen my idle mixture, but this thread is hard to decipher.

 

Can I get the tool that comes with the correct cable anywhere in the USA?  If so, where?



  • BoiseBee

    TT Bronze Member

177 posts
Location: Idaho
Garage View Garage

Posted November 24, 2013 - 09:05 AM


This seems like a big PIA.

 

I would like to enrichen my idle mixture, but this thread is hard to decipher.

 

Can I get the tool that comes with the correct cable anywhere in the USA?  If so, where?

 You can find them here in the states, but you will pay a little bit more money.....

http://www.boats.net...0-03182-00.html

 

You're right though... this is a big PIA. Yesterday I finally had enough and called my local dealer and asked if they could order the part for me at cost... and they actually had one in stock. They told me to bring the bike down and I could use it for free. They even let me use their sniffer and set the CO to dead-on 5%. I left it there for valve adjustment, but it came to life with the first button press now!

 

If anyone wants this VD001 p.o.s. pay the shipping and I'll give it to you for free.

 

Out.



  • Corkster

    TT Bronze Member

236 posts
Location: Australia

Posted November 24, 2013 - 01:51 PM


 

You're right though... this is a big PIA. Yesterday I finally had enough and called my local dealer and asked if they could order the part for me at cost... and they actually had one in stock. They told me to bring the bike down and I could use it for free. They even let me use their sniffer and set the CO to dead-on 5%. I left it there for valve adjustment, but it came to life with the first button press now!

 

 

Setting the idle CO should be a mandatory dealer pre-delivery adjustment when supplying the competition ECU.  It is unlike Yamaha to stuff something up this badly.  My advice to anyone looking to buy a new WR450F - make sure when you are negotiating the purchase that you include the dealer doing this for you.  It shouldn't add anything to the price







Related Content

Forums
Photo

2012 wr450f Idle issue by WeekendWarriorz


Dirt Bike   Dirt Bike Technical Forums   Intake - Jetting / Fuel Injection
  • 0 replies
Forums
Photo

2012 wr450 exhaust? What fits by Fvmcboy99


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • 20 replies
Forums
Photo

2012 wr450 headlight by donkeyballz


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • Hot  27 replies
Reviews

Yamaha WR450F 2012 by ThumperTalk


Yamaha WR450F 2012
  • * * * * -
  • 42 reviews
  • Last review by Ptch5636
  • On October 02, 2016
Forums
Photo

New '11 WR450 or '12WR450 by new605guy


Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   WR 400/426/450
  • Hot  76 replies

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

 
x

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.

The views and opinions expressed on this page are strictly those of the author, and have not been reviewed or approved by ThumperTalk.