99 yz400f first trip to the shop. Few questions

8 replies to this topic
  • TheDude1973

Posted June 27, 2012 - 02:01 AM

Interesting that today I'd be posting the first time on here. The bike got its inaugural endo-ver end on top of me today too. It's like its official, I'm back into riding.

My experince trail riding has been 100% at rampart range in Colorado. Fun stuff to ride in especially if it's not too dry. I started riding when I was about 10 and rode until I was 18 or so. I'm 39 now, and it seems lie the dirt bike world has changed more than I can understand without professional help. So I'm taking it to my cousin who has a bike shop down in town (Denver).

So based on everything I've read digging through the forum, here's what I plan on asking.

1. Is the bike worth putting some money into and keeping for a few or more years as a trail bike?
2. Fork seals and suspension; both front and rear. If they're still factory original, do we need to do a complete tear down, or just basic seal maintenance?
3. I'm going to ask about installing hot cams, and getting rid of the manual decomp for the rest of eternity.
4. Exhaust I believe is stock? I'm going to stick with it, unless there's a better option for tight trail riding.
5. Radiator and cooling issues. Just want to see if he has any ideas on keeping it cool on slow tractor paced tight tought trails.
6. Have him look at the carb, and if it's the stock carb from 1999, see if he can locate (or install after I've located) a newer 450f carb.
7. Its geared at 13/50 currently. That doesn't slow me to what I'd consider tractor mode. I'm thinking of 13/52 for a solution.
8. There's some cable damage, and I'm going to have him replace that.