WHATS THIS I HEAR (GREY WIRE) ON WR400F?

7 replies to this topic
  • new2it400

Posted June 17, 2012 - 12:16 PM

hi all, i recently bought a wr400f thats completely stock, only 212miles from new it was stored for 9 years,

i have read a few things how to make them a little quicker

remove air box lid,

cut grey wire???? WHATS THIS??

exhaust, which i am getting soon

i also heared that you can YZ IT?? i dont know what this is,

i am new to these bikes and really dont know much about the 4strokers!!!!

the WR looks and feels quite a strong bike, a little heavy but overall quite good

i sold my road bike (suzuki gsxr750) and wanted a change so i went towards enduro, i payed £1400 for it with 212 miles i think i got good deal,

all comments/advice very welcome!! thankyou

• William1

Posted June 17, 2012 - 12:32 PM

Your bike does not have the Grey Wire. It is a USA (and grey market CDN) issue.
You will need to rejet once you open the airbox up.
I would not worry about much more until you have some saddle time and identify 'issues' then work on those. It is not wise to modify things just because. Do it because you have a problem that needs resolving.

• new2it400

Posted June 17, 2012 - 01:17 PM

thanks for that so do you think i should put the lid back on the air box then?? cheers

• William1

Posted June 17, 2012 - 04:02 PM

Unless you are also going to jet the bike, I'd leave it untouched.

Opening the airbox up adds a little power but greatly reduces the vacuum signal in the carb so jetting needs to be richend to compensate for it. James Dean makes a fine kit and you can also check the jetting database for your model bike in a similar air densitry place for OEM jetting parts setups.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MANIAC998

Posted June 17, 2012 - 06:49 PM