2011 450 Suspension setup help for beginner

3 replies to this topic
  • mfoti

Posted June 16, 2012 - 06:59 PM

First let me say thanks in advance to all the great people on this forum who donate their time to help beginners. It is really appreciated. thank you.

I am new to MX and have never adjusted a suspension before. I weight 180 lbs and i now have 5 hours on a 2011 450f riding a soft MX track. How far off is the stock setup for my weight? I know every condition, preference, etc. determines the adjustment but I am a beginner and i just want to be "close" to the proper setup. Is there a general direction everyone takes on these bikes.. ie.softens the fork, etc... or is it all over the place depending on the rider/track?

My Static Sag Front is 46 mm and Static Sag rear is 89 mm. Do those numbers sound right?

Edited by mfoti, June 16, 2012 - 07:03 PM.

• MX763

Posted June 16, 2012 - 10:08 PM

First let me say thanks in advance to all the great people on this forum who donate their time to help beginners. It is really appreciated. thank you.

I am new to MX and have never adjusted a suspension before. I weight 180 lbs and i now have 5 hours on a 2011 450f riding a soft MX track. How far off is the stock setup for my weight? I know every condition, preference, etc. determines the adjustment but I am a beginner and i just want to be "close" to the proper setup. Is there a general direction everyone takes on these bikes.. ie.softens the fork, etc... or is it all over the place depending on the rider/track?

My Static Sag Front is 46 mm and Static Sag rear is 89 mm. Do those numbers sound right?

What's up to a fellow Floridian? I have been on Yamahas for a long time and I have noticed this one takes a while to set up and is very sensitive to setup. I wish I had more to offer but I am about to send my forks and shock off to Six12 in Central Florida for Gold Valving and springing. Good luck with it and I should be able to report back in a week or so.