help needed! oil strainer/screen, broke stuck in frame

14 replies to this topic
  • new2it400

Posted June 13, 2012 - 12:39 PM

hi i am new to this, never been on a forum before,

anyway, i bought a 2002 wrf400 2 weeks ago, its only got 212 miles on it so its basically new in terms of engine use,

i did an oil/filter change today, step by step with manual,

i was undoing the strainer/screen nut and expecting a long mesh thing to come out of the frame, but to my horror it had come off and was inside the frame still, it took me 2 hours fiddling about to finally get it out,

now its out i need to buy a new one, i dont know wheather it comes as a complete thing? nut with strainer/screen on it or i just have to buy the strainer/screen on its own??

ive tried ebay ive tried google search, but nothing comes up!!!! :devil:

can anyone help point me in the right direction??? PLEASE

• still2smokin

Posted June 13, 2012 - 02:40 PM

Thumpertalk store has oem parts as well as rockymountainatvmc.com and bikebandit.com.

Edited by still2smokin, June 13, 2012 - 04:08 PM.

• MANIAC998

Posted June 13, 2012 - 03:18 PM

It's one complete unit. The strainer is supposed to be permanently attached to the nut that threads up into the frame.
Maniac

• new2it400

Posted June 14, 2012 - 01:18 AM

Thanks for your info, i now know its a complete unit, (maniac)

also, on the oil filter cap theres 3 bolts?

well the one at the bottom is an allen bolt and is abit different to the other 2, abit thicker and shorter thread, but that bolt i have (allen) is

threaded so i was wondering if a normal bold like the other 2 would be ok?

just asking because that bolt seems to go through a hole with an O ring,

and because its a slighty thicker bolt, if i use a normal one i might get a leak???

ive explained it best i can, hope you understand what i am rambling on about ha,

thanks guys

i am new to this forum stuff and think its greart how people can share info!!

thanks alot :devil:

• MANIAC998