CRF230F Smoking

11 replies to this topic
  • MSteinbacher

Posted June 05, 2012 - 04:54 PM

I have noticed that whenever i start my 230 it starts up right away but every turn of the throttle smoke comes out like crazy, its a white/grey smoke. It doesnt seem to go away as the bike warms up either, any thoughts on what it could be?

• calbikeman2

Posted June 05, 2012 - 06:54 PM

How is the bike's history as to oil changes (including proper type of oil), air filter cleaning, proper storage techniques, and valve adjustments? As an amateur, I'd say it sounds like you're burning oil that gets into combustion chamber via bad rings/cylinder walls/valve stems/guides(?) due to insufficient maintenance. Perhaps there's a miniscule chance of factory defect(s)....

How about some expert opinions?

• MSteinbacher

Posted June 05, 2012 - 07:58 PM

How is the bike's history as to oil changes (including proper type of oil), air filter cleaning, proper storage techniques, and valve adjustments? As an amateur, I'd say it sounds like you're burning oil that gets into combustion chamber via bad rings/cylinder walls/valve stems/guides(?) due to insufficient maintenance. Perhaps there's a miniscule chance of factory defect(s)....

How about some expert opinions?

I have taken good care of it, always clean the oil after a couple of rides or when i see its dirty, same with the air filter, and keep it in my garage. Thanks!

Edited by MSteinbacher, June 05, 2012 - 07:58 PM.

• calbikeman2

Posted June 05, 2012 - 08:57 PM