yz426f starting nightmare

11 replies to this topic
  • mrweehorn

Posted April 29, 2012 - 10:51 AM

been for a ride on my yz426f today and had a total night mare . after eventually getting the bike started i set off and every was ok till stalled it and tried to start it again ... did nt get any where fast .... i knew that there was a knack and a procedure to follow for starting but had a time get used to it ..i ve only just got this bike and im new to 4 strokes . like i ve said i know theres a procedure to follow to start it, but still really struggled to the point of exhaustion. i could eventully get it started but don t want go through this every time im out for a ride... i don t know if its just me, not being used to it yet or is there something mechanical that needs attention that could be causing a starting problem like valve clearance or timing e.t.c

• RasmusDK

Posted April 29, 2012 - 11:03 AM

there is two videos that shows how to here:

http://www.yamaha-mo...troke_vid_a.mpg

http://www.yamaha-mo...troke_vid_b.mpg

the first time i took my 400 out I used all my energy kicking it too =) take your time to get it right and its child's play after that :banghead:

• RasmusDK

Posted April 29, 2012 - 11:05 AM

btw you should see the FAQ thread, its very helpful...

http://www.thumperta...ssues-and-faqs/

Edited by RasmusDK, April 29, 2012 - 11:06 AM.

• astre

Posted April 29, 2012 - 11:57 AM

after the first ride on mine I was ready to put it for sale...hard to start and a real pig to start if it stalled, after you figure it out though they are not bad to start at all....some people have different opinions but I keep my hand on the handle bar and away from the throttle when kicking to avoid the two stroke crank of the throttle when kicking...

• MNellis

Posted April 29, 2012 - 05:04 PM