pw80 had no oil for awhile it seems....

15 replies to this topic
  • gordesky1

Posted April 23, 2012 - 11:59 PM

Ok i had my pw80 for like 18 too 19years sense brand new which is a 94 could be a 96 but not really sure. It hasn't ran much either for like 10years before i started riding it again these 2 pass years.
Started right up like always even after all theses years. So at my cousins last year when riding it. Pretty much seized up and the spark plug got fire hot so bought a new spark plug and it still wouldn't start up. So i took it down a hill and put it in first and got it running. But it was hard too keep running than after awhile it ran perfect again,

So i started too put some caps of 2 stroke oil in the gas tank when a guy told us start doing that, Because the oil injection pump goes bad, So every tank i did that, But today i just notice it suppose too be a oil tank under the seat... So i took the seat off which i never did before. And yep the tank was empty....
I was always told that when you add oil into the engine the oil pump picks it up from there. Even my dad said that which he was wrong. But back than i didn't know much about dirt bikes so i didn't know..

But i just went out and filled it up with 2stroke oil. But how would i know if the pump even works anymore?? For some reason it always starts on the first kick and runs well. But after about a hour it will act up like loosing power and stalls like always.which is probably because it didn't have oil, And ony some in the tank which i ony put some because i always thought it was getting oil from the pump.