help changing fork springs

1 reply to this topic
  • JamesYZF

Posted April 22, 2012 - 09:03 PM

I have a 2011 YZ450F. I need to change out the stock springs ones that are for my weight. I have never done this before and scared to screw anything up. I have read my manual, and it is very vague, I want to hear from those folks that have changed there fork springs out often, and what advice you can give me before I attempt to do this on my own. I have changed rear shock springs before, and that is easy to do.

There are also so many different oil weights for the front fork. I was thinking about going with a 5 or 7w. I'm also 238lbs without gear if that helps.

What tools will I need to complete this job? I will need new fork oil I believe, and a fork cap wrench(?), I can't make out fro the diagrams in my manual, but it looks like the spring is at the bottom of the fork tube? Could I just take the bottom cap off, slide out the old spring and slide in the new one?

Thank you all for your time. I look forward to tackling this and learning something new.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted April 23, 2012 - 07:31 AM

At minimum, you'll need a 49mm 8 point wrench for the fork "caps". A 50mm will work. "Caps" is in quotes because the cap is actually the top of the fork cartridge assembly. You'll also need a rod holder, which you can make out of any piece of metal about 1 1/2" wide by cutting a 1/2" wide slot an inch or so long in one end of it. If all you want to do is change the springs, and you don't want to open the cartridge itself and change that oil, the simplified method goes like this: