01 WR 426 multiple starting issues

15 replies to this topic
  • cb01wr426

Posted April 11, 2012 - 03:55 AM

Thanks for reading. I did search, found separate answers about gas leaks, starting, but don't know how to apply the knowledge. I'm new to 426's. Just bought this used. I'm used to early XR600's which clear and start by holding compression release, throttle open, and kick 4-5 times. I think I flooded it by doing that. The previous owner could barely start it. When I test rode it it was spluttery, never "warmed up". It immediately leaked gas when turned the petcock on, then never leaked again. He said he couldn't start it and a shop did something to the carb, he's not sure what, but hurried it out to sell. Huh? He kick started it after 20-30 kicks. It had good power in upper RPM's, spluttery and popped a lot at low, and would never idle. It warm started easily after that test ride. I got it home and tried to start it (with "XR procedures") and could not. It doesn't leak anymore. Followed exact procedures noted all over here. Last night tried to tow-start it with zero response, which shocked the hell out of me, considering the previous owner could kick start it. Jetting may have been altered. It had been sitting for 2 years or so before sale.

Would a new plug help?
Would removing the plug, kicking it, letting it dry help?
Is it best to take it to a shop considering I don't really know the carb and don't want to work on that part?

I'm 51 and I couldn't sleep last night due to excitement/anxiety about getting this right. I'm dying to ride it.

This forum has helped me a lot. I tried to pay but I hate PayPal, and will not use them. Sorry. And Thanks.

• RasmusDK

Posted April 11, 2012 - 05:29 AM

Kick it till the kick starter is hardest, this is tdc. Then hold the decomp in at kick it 1 inch further on the kick starter. Release the decomp and get the kick starter back a the top, then kick it all way thru.