Get it in gear!

12 replies to this topic
  • Dualndan

Posted October 14, 2003 - 12:01 AM

Hi all, my name is Dan. I have 430 miles on my 2004 XR650L. I took it really easy on the brake in for about 200mi. When I started riding harder and pulling the front end up in a wheelie, I noticed when I shift to second, I'm getting a lot of neutrals. I've also noticed a couple of times, after shifting to second, then it pops out of gear when I get hard on the gas. This the first XR that I have owned I've allways ridden two strokes. I am used to not clutching when I shift. Tried clutching for shifts and didn't help. I was wondering If anyone else has had this problem. Is this an XR650 problem and I just need to be more deliberate with my shifting, or should I take the bike in and have it looked at. Any advice or opinoins greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone has a new or used aftermarket gas tank for sale, let me know. Thaks, Dan.

• qadsan

Posted October 14, 2003 - 07:45 AM

Dan, the 2 strokes you've been riding are much lighter in weight and don't have the engine braking or heavy flywheel effect that your XR650L has, which makes them much more forgiving with clutchless shifting, especially with improper clutchless shifting techniques. The heavier weight of your XR650L makes for more traction to the rear tire. Combine this with the added 4 stroke engine braking and it becomes critical that you master your clutchless shifting techniques or else tranny parts will fail.