Carb leaking

11 replies to this topic
  • Yamiryder

Posted March 19, 2012 - 05:25 PM

My 07 yz450 is leaking gas out of the carb when it shouldn't. When running, when the bike gets at any sort of angle out of normal, gas leaks out the drain hose. Also, when i got the bike at steep angles, it occasionally stalls. Is this a float sticking or something? I'm not too good with carbs....any help is appreciated. :thumbsup:

• bullwinkle289

Posted March 19, 2012 - 11:01 PM

I had something similar, all I done was remove the plug from the base of the carb, let the small amount of fuel drain out and replace the plug....no more fuel leaking from the drain hose.
I had the tank off before the leak started, all I can think of is that maybe some dirt got in from wherever I'd set the tank down and blocked something up a bit. I'd open the fuel tap and a second later it would be running out the drain hose.

Hope this helps!

• Yamiryder

Posted March 20, 2012 - 02:34 PM

Hmmm, i did have the tank off. I'll go try that. For some reason i don't think i'll be that lucky though...

Edit: i just did what you said to do, and took my bike for a ride around the yard. Still leaking bad like before. Guess its time to tear into the carb.

Edited by Yamiryder, March 20, 2012 - 03:34 PM.

• TeamPrecisionIT

Posted March 21, 2012 - 05:09 AM

Most likely you have a bit of grit or gunk causing the float valve not to properly seat which would shut off the flow of gas into the carb. I had the same problem on my 03. There was just a little bit of varnish/gunk on the float valve and even if I just turned the gas on and not have the bike running, it would leak. Give that a shot and see if it fixes your issue.

Damian

• Yamiryder

Posted March 23, 2012 - 06:40 PM