what to do to my 2004 kx 250

18 replies to this topic
  • emccone

Posted March 10, 2012 - 08:01 PM

hey guys I just picked up a mint 2004 kx 250. it is all stock except the bars and rear tire. I am a beginner and are looking for some simple mods to help it out. and any recommendations in mixtures for gas and oil!
thanks, Eric

• cantpassthis

Posted March 10, 2012 - 08:35 PM

leave it mostly stock, run high quality oil at 40:1. the best mod you will ever do is get springs that suit your weight and speed.

Edited by cantpassthis, March 10, 2012 - 08:38 PM.

• Kah Ran Nee

Posted March 10, 2012 - 09:43 PM

By a Service manual from Kawasaki and read it cover to cover.
Set your sag/match your springs
Change your oil every 5 hours
Learn how to properly adjust the chain (with someone compressing the shock)
Learn what tire pressure works best for you.

• Blackwoodz

Posted March 11, 2012 - 07:01 AM

hey guys I just picked up a mint 2004 kx 250. it is all stock except the bars and rear tire. I am a beginner and are looking for some simple mods to help it out. and any recommendations in mixtures for gas and oil!
thanks, Eric

Previous posted stated running 40:1....but If it is oem stock jetting 40:1 will cause the bike to run rich of fuel. I prefer Amsoil Dominator at 32:1.
I would also buy a manual or pm me and I will send you my email to link to a pdf. manual for it.

• emccone

Posted March 11, 2012 - 07:46 AM

here are some pictures of it!

http://www.flickr.co...in/photostream/
http://www.flickr.co...in/photostream/

• TurnerR

Posted March 12, 2012 - 01:13 AM

Do you ride woods or mx or both? If you ride woods, I would slap some Bark Busters on pronto. If you are an MX rider, ASV unbreakable levers are a great investment. I have both on my woods bike and love them.

Do you have spare air filters, cleaners, and oil for them?