Brake Switch/Electrical Question

6 replies to this topic
  • crash279

Posted March 07, 2012 - 11:23 PM

I just finished wiring up a hydraulic brake switch on my WR450. Everything is working great except for when I pull the brake lever the rear taillight doesn't illuminate...which kinda defeats the purpose. So here is the rundown: I have one wire, with an inline fuse, connected to one wire of the pressure switch. I have the other wire connected to the yellow wire that goes to the taillight assembly. The taillight bulb stays lit, but like I said, does not get any brighter when I hit the brake.

I broke out the multi meter and I have 12V going to the switch, but at the yellow wire connector I go from 6.8V to 7.9V when the brake lever is pulled. I'm no electrician, but as of right now I'm assuming that I have a bad switch, or is there something else that I need to investigate? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Edited by crash279, March 07, 2012 - 11:24 PM.

• Stealth13

Posted March 08, 2012 - 07:10 AM

Mine only works when I press the rear brake, it costs additional money for the front sensor as well

• ewr2004

Posted March 08, 2012 - 10:17 AM

Stealth in correct, the addition of a pressure switch is only going to allow the rear brake to activate the brake light. Also, make sure you have a dual filament bulb (tail & brake).

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • travertt

Posted March 08, 2012 - 11:42 AM

I wired a hydraulic switch for the rear brake on ny '04 WR...works great. The link to the wireing diagram is below

You have to wire into the battery as part of the circuit you are creating..otherwise you have an unpowered circuit. Where have you got the wire with the fuse on it connected to?...one end to the switch (as you say)...but what is the other end coming from the fuse connected to. From your description that wire isn't connected to anything.