Will I be disappointed with an X?

28 replies to this topic
  • jlmotox

Posted March 06, 2012 - 04:32 PM

For you guys that have a CRF450X my question is will it be enough for me? will I be disappointed?

Here is why I am asking....I have been riding for almost 30 years (i'm 34 now) been on 2 strokes all of my life, currently I am riding a 1997 CR250R and I have had it since 2000 and it has never broken down on me, it's always kept me happy with the power, weight, and handling. I love my bike but I REALLY want a new bike...I probably will keep my old CR even if I never ride it again just because its a great bike and I can....
I was just at the local dealership and a 2012 CRF450X caught my eye, but I have never rode one and I am worried that it will be too tame and heavy for me....I was there to look at a 450R and the X caught my attention...I mostly ride desert and mountain trails and maybe once a year I will go to the track...

do I get the X or R???? really wish it was like a car dealer and I could test ride both, that would make my choice easy!

I would really like to hear from anyone that has bought an X after riding 2 strokes forever and what you think...

• crfxer

Posted March 06, 2012 - 04:38 PM

Keep the 250 and buy the X. It definitely is heavier, but the power is there, to be opened up. I only ride my smoker in the tight singletrack. The X can do it all.

• Kah Ran Nee

Posted March 06, 2012 - 06:31 PM

I would say you will HATE IT. It is everything the CR isn't.

You should look at a 2008 CRF450R, the best year of the R models.

• baja184

Posted March 06, 2012 - 07:08 PM

It all depends on what you are looking for. I agree with Krannie, if you want something similiar to your cr250 you wont like it.