Bending Bars

3 replies to this topic
  • slh0616

Posted March 05, 2012 - 01:30 PM

So I just got a nice used 05 450, took a little spill this week and it seems that i bent my bars just a little bit to the left. Left side normal, right side seems a little forward. Is there any way to bend them back? Best method? or should I just go ahead and buy new ones. It just seems like a few degrees so I hope there is a way to avoid the $80 replacements? Thanks,

• cowboyona426

Posted March 05, 2012 - 01:50 PM

I'm sure you could bend them back using a cheater pipe or something, but if they are bent enough to be noticeable then bending them back is going to make them weaker... at least in my mind.
If you do end up replacing them, I'd go with a Pro Taper bar. I've been running them for about 8 years now and have nothing bad to say at all. Original Pro Taper Henry bend on my old 00 and Contour Windham bend on my 06.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted March 05, 2012 - 01:52 PM

The question is whether you actually bent the bars, or did you simply twist the forks in the clamps?

Loosen either the upper or the lower triple clamp pinch bolts (not the upper and lower, just one or the other) and see if the front end returns to straight. Look for the front wheel to be at a 90 degree angle to the top clamp.

• VetRacer75

Posted March 06, 2012 - 02:03 AM

[color=#222222]Hi, i just straightened my 11 front end after a hard landing with good results[/color]
[color=#222222]The bars were not bent but the forks must have rotated in the clamps, steering was way off.[/color]
[color=#222222]It was a little mucking around but didn't take long[/color]
[color=#222222]Bike up on stand.[/color]