New to Thumpers, have some questions.

2 replies to this topic
  • Matt_W

Posted August 15, 2001 - 04:03 PM

Hi all, I'm new to thumpers and new to this forum, and I'm glad to have found your community. I've been riding 2-smokes most of my riding career and just switched to a 00 YZ426F. I've never been so glad to discard my stroke as I am now, this bike is awesome !!! I picked up my 426 two weeks back, the previous owner rode it twice and it scared the livin' crap out of him. When I picked the bike up it looked like it rolled off the show room floor !! You have to love guys who buy over the heads and or riding skill, they leave great bargains for the rest of us.

I don't race, I'm pretty much a weekend warrior who likes woods riding and hill climbing. I've only put one ride on the bike, and I fell in love with it. The first modification I made after the maiden ride was putting a 13 tooth counter sprocket on. Sheesh the bike was geared high off the floor, but then again it was made for MX. I've only ridden the bike around the house with the new sprocket, but it has made a huge difference.

I have not had the clutch problems I keep reading about, but then again I'm not racing and fanning the clutch alot either. However, I am experiencing the throttle stumple when I wick the throttle with low revs. I've bumped up my idle speed which helped a little, but I'm looking for a better solution. I've heard two suggestions thus far:

1. Turn the pilot screw out. Does this lean out the pilot circuit ??

2. Use the 01' model needle in the same clip position.

Does anyone have any suggestions ??

How often do you guys change your oil ?? How often do you clean out the ail filter and frame filter? I changed my oil tonight but I did't clean the oil or frame filters. What an overall pain in the arse to change the oil on these things. Two drain bolts, you have to move the header to get at the oil filter, and the frame filter nut is supposed to be torqued at 65 ft lbs !!!