2008 2009 YZ450 Better than WR450 for Trails ?

16 replies to this topic
  • Navaho6

Posted February 20, 2012 - 07:53 AM

I've been riding a 2006 WR450 (steel frame) for two years. I had the suspension resprung and revalved twice (RT gold valves). I ride 90% singletrack trails in LA, some of it very tight for short distances but most of it is 2nd & 3rd gear speed on the WR (15 - 20 mph). 4 - 5 times a year, we ride fast open quad trails with deep sand.

The things I like about the WR450 are:
---Suspension is soft enough to soak up the roots and not deflect.
---Electric start (but I don't mind kicking because it takes only 1 - 2 kicks)
---Doesn't stall very often
---Bullet proof motor. Low maintenance on valves.
---Low 1st gear is nice when you need it and 2nd is perfect in the thickets most of the time.
---Great hill climber in any terrain, lots of traction
---Power is just right for tight woods

Thinks I don't like:
---Very heavy. I've add a TI shock spring and removed the lights and it is still a pig - 273 lbs wet with all the typical enduro protection. You really feel it the whoops and jumps and it is tuff to move around when stuck.
---Poor handling & slow steering. Takes a lot of concentration, and I have to ride way over the bars to make it turn. If I raise the forks just a tad it gets unstable in the whoops. Suspension is also to blame
---Forks use up most of the travel in fast sections. Higher oil level or more compression only make it harsh and deflect.
---Power is a little soft when the trails open up but the bike is stock. Would be an easy fix.

I can ride the WR at B-level pace but it wears me out quickly. No intentions of racing again. I'm looking at a 2008 or 2009 YZ450F as a do-all bike to replace the WR. I hear that these bikes are soft on power delivery and have a plush suspension compared to most other MX bikes. Sounds like a good match for woods.

My questions are: