Can i damage my AP pump

6 replies to this topic
  • rcdude33

Posted February 12, 2012 - 07:16 AM

Hey guys I got a 09 yz450f with a Dr.d full system.

But here's my question. I did the oring mod to.my.bike and it did help with the bog but in the lower rpms its still there. Now a mechanic told me that when u hit the throttle the oring still flexes. Instead he told me to use wire to tie down the AP pump. That day there's no moving in the pump.

Now if I do this, will.it damage the pump? He told me it should get rid of the bog but like I said I just don't want to damage the pump.

Thanks guys and god bless all of you. And sorry for asking I'm not very good with the four stroke carbs.

Thanks

Alex

• rcdude33

Posted February 12, 2012 - 07:17 AM

Also, would u guys recommend wire instead of the oring?

• rhinoracin

Posted February 12, 2012 - 12:30 PM

I would stick with an o-ring.
I thought before putting the o-ring in, you adjust the screw that the o-ring goes over so theres no gap between it and the AP linkage at wide open throttle?
I put a R&D power pump on my 09, with their AP linkage spring that works better than using an oring or wire. My bike doesnt bog at all. Would it help even more if I adjusted that screw on the AP linkage too?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • rcdude33

Posted February 12, 2012 - 03:27 PM

Cool man hahaha but i may have to check that out. Did you notice better throttle response?

• grayracer513

Posted February 13, 2012 - 08:43 AM

If you wire the pump, you will need to remove most of the button on the diaphragm or the pump linkage will keep your throttle from opening completely. Wiring is a "gorilla" mod for people who can't tune carbs or learn to ride without yanking the throttle open. I absolutely recommend against it.