How do I PREVENT damage to oil filter drain bolt before oil change?

12 replies to this topic
  • WWalker

Posted February 11, 2012 - 10:07 PM

I have been reading through the threads related to the oil filter drain bolt and the damage that can occur. I am new to the 426 club and am prepping to change the oil for the first time since I purchased the bike a few weeks ago. I am now fully aware of the problems with the oil passage allowing the shavings to cause damage to the threads.....but my question is how do I prevent that from happening before I start to work on the bike? Is there a specific way to drain the oil that will prevent the damage before removing any bolts? For all I know the previous owner could have done Grayracer's ball bearing mod....(wishful thinking).

Edited by WWalker, February 11, 2012 - 10:08 PM.

• stroker101

Posted February 12, 2012 - 03:53 AM

try laying the bike on it's side(clutch side) then remove the bolts for the filter cover, then stand the bike upright to allow the remaining oil to drain.
then use a small diameter gun cleaaning brush to clean out the bolt hole prior to reinstalling the bolts.

Edited by stroker101, February 12, 2012 - 03:56 AM.

• stroker101

Posted February 12, 2012 - 09:33 AM

try laying the bike on it's side(clutch side) then remove the bolts for the filter cover, then stand the bike upright to allow the remaining oil to drain.
then use a small diameter gun cleaning brush to clean out the bolt hole prior to reinstalling the bolts.

lay the over on a bike stand. allow the end of the handlebar to rest on the stand

• BBrown626

Posted February 12, 2012 - 06:28 PM

We followed somebody's advice and filled the drain hole with RTV. You don't need it. Look in the FAQ or on thumperfaq.

Edited by BBrown626, February 14, 2012 - 04:29 PM.

• WWalker

Posted February 12, 2012 - 07:47 PM

We followed Grayracer's advice and filled the drain hole with RTV. You don't need it. Look in the FAQ or on thumperfaq.